2D and Stop Motion animation TASK4 – Sense of Hope

Evaluation

The animation creation

The character

To create the character I was using Adobe Illustrator and was using only pen tool. I’ve created different parts of body separately (hair, eyes, head, etc.) :

character creation.png

It wasn’t easy drawing with a mouse using Illustrator. I thought Photoshop was easier to draw with and I also could add more shading and detail to my drawings. However, I think assets created with Photoshop have worse quality compared to Illustrator. For example, when I uploaded clouds created with Photoshop into Adobe Animate they were blurry and low quality, which is why I chose Illustrator.
Screen Shot 2017-04-21 at 12.44.54.png

I created small bits of hair separately to make it move as she walks.  At first it was a bit hard to get her body proportion right – the dress was too wide or too small.

This is the the final look:Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 15.39.09.png

As we can see her dress is way lighter and matches the eye colour. I removed the stroke around some objects, because it made them too stand out too much.
The character is way less detailed than in the drawings because it was hard to do that using Illustrator.

Here are different expressions of her:

 

There are back and side angles too:

I didn’t have to draw the hair each time. I’ve got a layer of hair copy and pasted to create different looking hair.

To create the body I didn’t draw the whole of it. I only added legs which made it look like there is a whole body:

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 15.40.02

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 15.39.47.png

Different angles and emotions of a standing character:

Silhouettes

These are the two people the girl was walking with:

Birds

There is also a scene of birds flying. I’ve also created them using Illustrator.

bird creation

 

Creating the scenes

At first. using Photoshop I drew the scenery with a brush.

background

It looked a little bit plain so I added some pictures with low opacity and erased some bits I didn’t want to see. This gave more detail:

background.png

For each scene I was drawing a different drawing. Eventually, the weather became worse and worse so I added extra clouds and made the colours darker.

This is how I created the landscapes. The background layer is my drawing and each other different layer is a picture of something:

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 15.22.43.png

Here are my all landscape scenes:

 

Animating

To animate I’ve used Adobe Animate. First of all, I would take the object I created in Illustrator and put it in Adobe Animate.

animating bird.png

This is a picture of animating the birds. I created two copies of them and used a bone tool to make their wings and bodies move. To use the bone tool, each part of the body I had to convert to a symbol and name it differently. I made the rotation centre in the middle of the body.

animating.png

This is a picture of animating the first scene of landscape. I’ve added the clouds and using motion tween I made them to move slowly to the right side. I made a transparent circle become bigger and smaller around the sun to make it look as if it was shining. Also I’ve made little circles move back and forth on the water to make it looks as if it was sparkling.

I’ve basically used the same method to all my scenes- using the motion tween made the symbols bigger and smaller, making them move different directions and etc.

In my opinion my animating method was limited and I couldn’t do more complicated animation. I found After Effects quite complicated at first, and there wasn’t enough time for me to learn it better so I chose Adobe Animate. With Adobe Animate I also didn’t know much things, just the basic stuff. I think if I had more knowledge with these programs I could have created a better animation.

Editing:

To edit the animation I used iMovie. I’ve created about 42 different scenes. After saving each other separately from Adobe Animate, I’ve moved them to iMovie. On each scene I applied a transform effect. There are fade in/out effects, slide in/out, etc.

Subtitles were also applied using this program. I think I should have done the subtitles a bit more visible and bold, because now it is kinda hard to read. Also, the subtitles are a bit too fast to read, but because there was a 1:30 time limit, I had to make it faster.

I tried to make the amount of scenes as less as possible, so there would be more time for reading, but I feel like if I deleted even more it would be even harder to catch the plot meaning or get involved into the animation.

Feedback from peers

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 11.03.59.png

Most of the people said that the colours reflect the atmosphere and emotion, although it could be improved.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 11.05.18.png

The answers for this one are very different, some said that it was too fast or too slow. Other people said it was perfect.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 11.06.32.png

The same amount of people said that the amount of effects was perfect and that there could be added more.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 11.07.59.png

Almost half of the group said that the character was perfectly made, and others said that there could be added more detail to character or colours could be improved.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 11.09.17.png

The bigger part of the group said that the backgrounds we nicely drawn and others said that the art style of them could be improved.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 11.10.31.png

According to this the music perfectly reflected atmosphere, although for some people it wasn’t appealing. Also most of the people understood the storyline.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 11.13.12.png
According to responses, most of the people understood the storyline.

Screen Shot 2017-05-22 at 11.14.02.png

According to answers I could have added a walk cycle and leg/arm movements. Also the subtitles could be more visible.

Leave a Reply

